Arena di Verona

Who we are

Here is who we are, the organization of the Arena foundation and the history of the oldest Opera Festival in the world

History of the Opera Festival  

The Opera Festival at the Arena di Verona began in 10th August 1913, with the first performance of Aida organized by Verona tenor Giovanni Zenatello and impresario Ottone Rovato to commemorate the centenary of the birth of Giuseppe Verdi.

For over a hundred years (except for two short breaks during the two World Wars), every summer the Roman amphitheatre is transformed into the world’s largest open-air opera theatre.

The current organization is the result of the reform ratified by Decree-law N° 134 of 1998 and Decree-law 134 of 1998, which transformed enti lirici (opera institutions) into private law foundations, thus creating the current Fondazione Arena di Verona, and offering private members the possibility of joining. The current founding members of the Foundation are the Republic of Italy, the Veneto Region, the Municipality of Verona, the Province of Verona and Verona Chamber of Commerce. Fondazione Cariverona, Banca Popolare di Verona and the Accademia Filarmonica of Verona were founding members in the past.

The foundation’s institutional objective is to carry out non-profit cultural activity of a public utility nature, pursuing the spread of musical art and the musical education of the community.

 

 

Management

General Manager/Sovrintendente   Cecilia Gasdia

cecilia.gasdia@arenadiverona.it 
sovrintendenza@arenadiverona.it

General Manager Assistant and Communication and Archives Assistant   Romy Gaida romy.gaida@arenadiverona.it
Artistic Director   Cecilia Gasdia

cecilia.gasdia@arenadiverona.it 
direzione.artistica@arenadiverona.it

Deputy Artistic Director   Stefano Trespidi stefano.trespidi@arenadiverona.it
Production Manager   Stefano Mazza stefano.mazza@arenadiverona.it
Director of Stage Design   Michele Olcese michele.olcese@arenadiverona.it
Director of Security Matteo Salvetti sicurezza@arenadiverona.it
Director of Human Resources   Cecilia Gasdia ad interim ufficio.personale@arenadiverona.it
Administration and Management Control Manager   Andrea Delaini andrea.delaini@arenadiverona.it
Procurement and Logistic Manager   ufficio.acquisti@arenadiverona.it
Sales and Marketing Manager   Cecilia Gasdia ad interim
  Andrea Compagnucci
commerciale@arenadiverona.it
Ticketoffice manager   Barbara Andreis barbara.andreis@arenadiverona.it
Person in charge for the corruption prevention   Cecilia Gasdia sovrintendenza@arenadiverona.it
Transparency Manager    Andrea Delaini andrea.delaini@arenadiverona.it
Data Protection officer (Reg. Europeo 679/2016 - art. 37 par. 7 del RGPD)    Avv. Roberto Nicolini rpd@arenadiverona.it

 

 

Partner

Major partner

Major partner Unicredit

Official sponsor

Official sponsor Calzedonia Official sponsor Giovanni Rana Official sponsor Forno Bonomi Official sponsor Metinvest Official supplier Genny

Automotive partner

Automotive partner Volkswagen

Mobility partner

Mobility partner Bahn

Accessibility partner

Mobility partner Muller

Media partner

Media partner RTL